Scottish Small Pipes & Reeds

Here is a selection of recordings played on the Scottish Small Pipes, they are old recordings perhaps done a few years ago. I had a lot of trouble when I first got this chanter from Shepherd’s Bagpipes, There was nothing wrong with the chanter or the reed, but I just could not get an octave, it was very flat at the top. So I made my own reed for it, and I had a lot of experimentation finding the right reed.

These recordings are part of that selection. I am trying the reed out… not trying out the melodies! I think I did not keep the reed in these recordings, although some of the recordings sound better than others.

Leave a Reply

