“Reminisce” by BusinessControlled

Nostalgia… a great song by the Buzzcocks, but also it is something to do with old age! An imagined past… or if it is in the young “nostalgia for an age yet to come….” to quote from The Buzzcocks song; either way it something imagined.

Music we listen too is a sort of Reminisce… did we appreciate it the first time around? Probably not, perhaps we skipped over a lot of it… but 2nd time around, now that is a different matter.

I like to create something new with something old. I am also guilty of reminiscing… a musical history with the books I read, the instruments I play, the music I research. Was punk music that liberating? Was Turkish music that mystical? Was Classical music that elitist? mmmmm well, maybe it was for Classical music !!!

But the glorified past of a Punk gig… no, they were chaotic and often had a crap sound. I watched this gig (in the video) with these thoughts in my head. I enjoyed their music, a good sound, and an audience what was not out of their heads on glue ! They were enjoying themselves, not trying to kill one another. Times change.

The music I played is based around the Turkish ney (trying to demystify the mysticism, i guess). Playing secular music…. tut tut…. and with nasty electronic music in the background…. but the ney ends up fading away under a shroud of reverb… is it music? to me, yes. Improvisation on an acoustic instrument with an a-tonal electronic music mashed together to create what? Nostalgia? I hope not. I will remember the first time around…. thank you very much.

Author: ethnopiper

A Ethnomusicologist, musician of traditional music "Ethnopiper", Performer of Electronic music "BusinessControlled"

Leave a comment